Thank You, You Legends.

 IMG_1886 IMG_1820 IMG_1884

I have been overwhelmed by the amount of love and support Sonny and I have received since starting this blog. It has been made more apparent this week, as last Sunday I ran the London Marathon for the National Autistic Society. I just wanted to say a huge massive gargantuan THANK YOU to everyone who sponsored me. I cannot believe that through the JustGiving page we have raised over £3000 for such a great charity that is so close to my heart. You have all been so generous, not only in your donations but also in your words. The amount of good luck texts and messages and voicemails I received was amazing! So I know this doesn’t really cut it, but thank you thank you thank you thank you.

The whole day was very emosh (I cried three times before I got to the start line) and I definitely overestimated how high my pain threshold is. I cried numerous times on the way round in agony! But it was an incredible experience (apart from a very tragic experience at the beginning involving a ‘she-wee.’) and Sonny and his parents came and met me and my family and friends at a pub afterwards. Seeing him definitely made the pain worth it! He was a little confused by the whole affair but he gave me a lovely balloon to say congratulations!

IMG_1877 IMG_1887

In the 4 hours and 41 minutes I took to run it, I thought of all the challenges that Sonny faces every day. Running a marathon seemed like nothing in comparison.

To me, he is an inspiration. He experiences a world that others don’t understand. He experiences feelings he finds hard to express. And yet he still finds light in every day: laughs when I sneeze, runs and scares pigeons which he finds hilarious, and learns new words every day.

What a wonder.

And what a treat that I get to spend so much time with him!

Thank you again, for your generosity and kindness!

IMG_1823 IMG_1827 IMG_1824

Leave a Reply

