Miss You Son!

IMG_2181

I didn’t get to see Sonny last weekend, as he was ill! (But according to his mum, he was asking for me on Sunday, which pretty much broke my heart.)

But not seeing him has made me realise just how much he means to me. I miss him so much!

Whenever I tell people what I do, one of the things they say is, ‘oh that must be really hard, what a selfless job!’ It is hard, as most jobs are, but it is definitely not selfless.

I get so much out of seeing Sonny, and when I don’t see him (like this last weekend) I really feel like I have missed out. If anything, I have a selfish need to see him. He makes me laugh like no other, he teaches me like no other, and we get to do cool stuff and mince around London together.

I think its fair to say I am attached to that small little man of little words, and I think its fair to say he is attached to me. To have a trusting relationship with another is so important to growth and development for children, especially those with developmental difficulties, like Sonny. But I suppose in terms of working with children, it can be bad for the child to get too attached, because they can come to depend too much on the adult. And what if that adult doesn’t work with them anymore? In a school setting I agree with this, as it can really affect a child’s development if that attachment is disrupted or broken. But with Sonny, I kind of feel like he is a younger brother I get to see every weekend.

And I imagine I will be in his life forever now (If his parents allow it!) Well, or until he’s had enough of me, (which I hope will never happen!)

 IMG_1823

Leave a Reply

