You are SO able!

IMG_4886Haven’t seen Sonny in weeks.
MISS HIM LIKE MAD.

So here are some random ramblings…
Occasionally, Sonny has a meltdown when we are out, only when something is really bad, (like its really crowded, or the pool is shut etc) but when it does happen, and he is crying and screaming and hitting, that is when I really see Sonny’s autism. In every day life when we are mincing around a museum or cutting about a soft play centre, I just see a little boy.

An able, clever, considerate and hilarious little boy. I know he has autism and ADHD and I realise that it is a disability, but first and foremost he is a child. All I see when I am with him is his ability to do new things I couldn’t have imagined he would ever do when I first met him.

He has shown me he can say my name, he can say he is hungry, he can share food, he can show empathy and express love, he has a wicked sense of humour and likes to be tickled. When I met him three years ago he would barely look at me.

I guess it is about what you choose to see in someone. I could choose to see that he can’t yet tie his shoe laces or explain to me why he will try to put a daddy long legs in his mouth but not a piece of apple.

What I am trying to say (very incoherently) is sometimes it seems to me that it is what we choose to see in someone that can define them. If I defined Sonny by all the things he can’t do, it would be that view, that would be disabling him, not his autism.

IMG_5078

If someone defined me by everything that I couldn’t do, or that I have done wrong, then I would be friendless, jobless and homeless probs.

I promise I will never define you by what you cannot do.
I promise I’ll never disable you.
Oh and I promise I’ll never stop loving you!

IMG_5139

Leave a Reply

